Uncategorized

Favourite TV Weddings

I was struggling to find something to write about for this weeks post. What I’d originally intended to write was causing an issue and I didn’t have enough time to prepare for it (hopefully it will be sorted for next week!). So I decided to take a break and watch my favourite TV programme – Parks & Recreation.

I can’t tell you how many times I’ve watched Parks & Rec, it’s my go to show when there’s nothing on TV or when I’m bored. I’ve been making my way through series 5 and last night I watched one of my favourite episodes of the show – Ben and Leslie’s wedding. And why is it one of my favourite episodes? Because their wedding is my favourite TV wedding I have ever seen. And that got me thinking, I should do a post on some of my favourite TV weddings. WARNING – there will be spoilers.

1769214Photo Source

So it only seems right that I start off with my favourite wedding – Leslie and Ben. Their relationship in Parks & Rec is one of my favourites (bar April and Andy). I love how supportive they are of one another and what they’re willing to sacrifice. The fact that they were so impatient to marry one another and have their wedding three months early is perfect for these two and shows how much they want to be together.

Unfortunately, their wedding doesn’t go quite to plan all thanks to Jam (anyone else who can’t stand that character?) However it ends up for the better with a small intimate wedding with the Parks team (and Champion) present. My two favourite parts of the whole episode is their vows with “I love you and I like you” (so sweet!) and the beautiful shot of them at Leslie’s favourite spot in Pawnee – the bench in front of the meadow mural.

S03E09Photo Source

Keeping with Parks & Rec we’re moving onto my favourite TV couple – Andy and April. The fact that these two crazy kids had a surprise wedding is amazing. I would love to do something as impromptu as that.

Chandler&MonicaWeddingPosePhoto Source

I’m sure many of you also grew up watching Friends and will remember the episode where Chandler and Monica get married. Did anyone else get worried the first time they watched it that Chandler wouldn’t make it to the alter? At least he did though and their wedding was beautiful, even with Joey making a dramatic entrance in his bloodied army gear. My favourite part of this episode is Monica’s vows, they’re so sweet and loving but how she ended it is so funny – “Unless you don’t want to. You go.”

wedding_07Photo Source

The 11th Doctor in Dr Who has such a lovely friendship with Amy that it’s hard not to love them. But what’s better than their friendship is the dynamic with Rory in the group as well. It was a rollercoaster of a relationship between Amy and Rory (I know I shed a tear or two at times) but they finally find their way back to each other and make it down the aisle, albeit without the Doctor. However, the trio are reunited thanks to Amy (and a little help from River Song) and the TARDIS lands at the wedding. And who could forget the fantastic dancing from the Doctor.

11dancePhoto Source

imagePhoto Source

Last but not least, I could never forget Jim and Pam from The Office. Possibly one of the most favourite TV couples it was a moment everyone was waiting for when they got married. But I don’t think anyone thought that they would get married twice. It goes to show that if you have people meddling in your wedding and its turning out to be not what you wanted or expected, it’s a good idea to have a back up wedding.

51b9c512deb9c793488a9cd1c337c866Photo Source

What are some of your favourite TV weddings? Let me know in the comments.

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

